Area 125,050 sq miles

Population 4,577,457

Capital Oslo 521,886

Status Constitutional Monarchy

Major cities

Bergen 237,430

Drammen 56,680

Trondheim 154,351

Tromsø 61,897

Stavanger 112,405

Kristiansand 75,280

Fredrikstad 69,867


Language Norwegian (Bokmål and Nynorsk), Lappish

Religion 92 % Evangelical Lutheran Christian

Currency Norwegian krone (NOK)

Norway is one of the Nordic countries, occupying the western part of the Scandinavian peninsula, with a total area of 125,050 sq miles. It is bordered by the North Sea, the Norwegian Sea and Barents Sea in the west, Russia, Finland and Sweden in the east, and the Skagerrak (an arm of the North Sea) in the south. Most of the country consists of mountains and plateaus.

Forests are found almost as far north as Nordkapp (the North Cape). Norway's temperate climate is the result of the warming Gulf Stream. Summers are remarkably mild for the latitude, while winters are long and very cold, often with plenty of snow. Rainfall is very heavy in the west.

Norway is a country of socio-economic equality with a high standard of living and a homogeneous population. Apart from Oslo and adjacent suburbs, there are no metropolitan cities in Norway. Norwegians usually live in small communities with well developed road, air and ferry communication. Many communities are built up around one major business or industrial enterprise. The sea along the coast is rich in natural resources like oil and fish.

Norwegian Genealogy & History


There is an endless list of things to do in Norway. Norway Lodging has created  directories of of activities based on your interests.

Norwegian-American Organizations